ISP Unified License

First step is to acquire an ISP (Internet Service Provider) License to run the business of Broadband in India. Any MSO can apply to obtain the ISP License UL (Unified Licensing) System. UL License is given by DoT and it is valid for 20 Years.

One must decide the coverage of the area of the services offered. One can choose from three categories that is -

Category A ISP: Covers the entire country.

Category B ISP: Covers one of the 20 major states in India.

Category C ISP: Covers one secondary switching area i.e. a district.

The third most important step is to have a NOC (Network Operations Centre) with raised floors that can route cables easily.

The company will have to purchase, install and configure enterprise-grade routers, switches and computers. In addition, the company has to also purchase power backup solutions, in case of power cuts.

The next step is to have bandwidth with minimum two or more upstream internet service from telecom providers like Reliance or Tata Com to resell it to the clients.

Eligibility Criteria for Internet Service Providers.

A company registered in India under the Companies Act will be eligible to submit the proposal for providing Internet Service. Foreign equity shall be as per the FDI policy and guidelines issued from time to time.

ISP - VNO - IPTV - VoIP (Internet Telephony)

DoT License & Compliance Consultant

Ozg Law Group | Follow @ozglaw | WhatsApp # 8779696580

Email:  | Homepage:

Phone & WhatsApp # 8779696580


Email *

Message *